Rounding Change When No Canadian Pennies Are Around

On my 9-13-12 blog , I mentioned about the last Canadian penny being minted on May 2012. Well, now the act of rounding up change when Canadian pennies are hardly in circulation has already started since Feb. 4,2013 .At this same time too, the Government of Canada has stopped distributing pennies.

Cashless or electronic transactions(credit cards,debit cards,etc) will not be affected. All the stores here in town have already posted how the rounding would be as based on federal guidelines:

Here’s an example of a simple dollar transaction with some cents involved in the rounding process:

ROUNDING DOWN:  $1.01 or $1.02    $1.00         ROUNDING UP: $1.03 OR $1.04    $1.05

$1.06 or $1.07    $1.05                                     $1.08 OR $1.09   $1.10

As for transactions ending in either 0 or 5, no rounding out made.

It’s a way of getting used to it, I guess but personally, I will miss the penny.

A penny for my thoughts indeed!

Josie

2 comments
  1. Melissa said:

    I seriously love your blog.. Excellent colors & theme.
    Did you create this site yourself? Please reply back as I’m looking to create my own personal website and would love to know where you got this from or what the theme is named. Kudos!

    • My niece helped me in setting up the web design through wordpress. I believe it’s called Blogum. I wanted it plain and simple. Later on, I wanted a splash of color on the screen so I have another niece, an aspiring graphic designer who brought up a series of colored figurines of my choice –preferably ikebana style—the Japanese way of floral arrangement.
      Thanks for the compliment and am glad you enjoyed my website design.

Leave a Reply

